ASLA Council of Fellows Business Meeting Monday, November 14, 2022 Moscone Center, San Francisco 8:00-9:00am Pacific Time

Minutes - Draft

Presiding: Juanita Shearer-Swink, FASLA, Chair

Officers: Terry Warriner Ryan, FASLA, Chair-elect Pam Blough, FASLA, Secretary Ramiro Villalvazo, FASLA, Member at Large Marion Pressley, FASLA, Immediate Past Chair

- Guests: Naomi Bailey, Student ASLA, 2022 ASLA COF Scholarship Recipient Victor Cizik, Student ASLA, 2022 ASLA COF Scholarship Recipient Andrea Fager, Student ASLA, 2022 ASLA COF Scholarship Recipient Luis Jorge Hernandez, Student ASLA, 2022 ASLA COF Scholarship Recipient
- Staff: Curt Millay, ASLA, Corporate Secretary Michael O'Brien, Hon. ASLA, Chief Financial Officer Barbara Deutsch, FASLA, LAF Executive Director Judy Mehlman, Development Coordinator

1. Call to Order and Introductions

Ms. Shearer-Swink called the meeting to order at 8:06am and introduced the committee and guests.

2. Minutes of the Previous Meeting

IT WAS MOVED BY MR. DOOLITTLE AND SECONDED BY MR. TROY TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING. MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY.

3. Moment of Silence for Departed Fellows

Ms. Shearer-Swink acknowledged Fellows who have passed away since the last business meeting. The body observed a moment of silence.

David Barth	Lawrence Wahlquist, Jr.
Julius Fabos	Sara Katherine Williams
Forster Ndubisi	
Richard Powell	

4. Recognition of the 2022 Class of Fellows

Ms. Shearer-Swink acknowledged the 2022 class of Fellows who had been inducted at the Council of Fellows Investiture Ceremony the previous evening.

Michael Albert
Richard Alomar
John N. Amodeo
María De La Gracia Bellalta
Deneen A. Crosby
Galen S. Drake
Bruce David Dvorak
Kyle L. Fiddelke
Joan A. Floura
Christian Gabriel
William A. Green
Adam Greenspan
Bob Hughes
Claire Humber
Mark Alan Klopfer

Claire Latané Samir Mathur Philip J. Meyer Ramon V. Murray Heidi Kaarin Kay Natura Jennifer L. Nitzky Kevin Joseph Osburn Jeffrey J. Pongonis Nancy Prince Debra L. Schmucker Michael Stanley April Westcott

5. Council of Fellows Scholarship Presentation

Ms. Shearer-Swink recognized the four Council of Fellows 2022 scholarship recipients. Naomi Bailey Victor Cizik Andrea Fager Luis Jorge Hernandez

6. Scholarship Task Force Recommendations

Subsequent to the Nov. 22, 2021, COF Business Meeting in Nashville, TN, the COF Scholarship Task Force participated in an online discussion regarding eligibility requirements.

Currently, applicants eligible for the COF Scholarships must be permanent U.S. citizens or permanent resident aliens who are **third**, **fourth**, **or fifth-year undergraduates of landscape architecture at a Landscape Architecture Accreditation Board (LAAB) accredited Program**. The COF Scholarship program seeks to aid outstanding students in financial need and to increase the participation of under-represented populations in landscape architecture. For the second year, the COF will be awarding one \$10,000 and three \$5,000 scholarships. This year the recipients will receive their awards at the COF Investiture.

The consensus of the Task Force was that while any student in need is a student in need,

- the COF Scholarship should, for now, continue to focus on **undergraduate students** enrolled in LAAB accredited Landscape Architecture Programs and
- eligibility should be expanded to include 2nd year undergraduate students enrolled in LAAB

accredited Landscape Architecture Programs

Those present were asked to vote on these recommendations.

Motion: To continue to focus on **undergraduate students** enrolled in LAAB accredited Landscape Architecture Programs and to expand eligibility to include 2nd year undergraduate students enrolled in LAAB accredited Landscape Architecture Programs.

IT WAS MOVED BY MR. GENTILE AND SECONDED BY MS. CLEMENT TO APPROVE THE TASK FORCE RECOMMENDATIONS. MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY.

7. Financial Report

Mr. O'Brien and Ms. Deutsch provided a financial update on the COF Scholarship Fund. The year-end 2021 balance was \$729,836. Principal contributions from 2021 totaled \$22,090.

Following discussion on the financial report and the direction of the scholarship program, Mr. Winslow suggested a friendly amendment to the previous motion to include a \$10,000 scholarship for a graduate student in 2024. After further discussion,

IT WAS MOVED BY MR. WINSLOW AND SECONDED BY MR. TRUSCOTT TO REVISIT OFFERING A GRADUATE STUDENT SCHOLARSHIP ONCE THE MILLION DOLLAR FUNDRAISING GOAL IS REACHED. MOTION PASSED WITH ONE ABSTENTION (MR. SMITH).

8. New Business

There was no new business.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 8:58am on Monday, November 14, 2022.